African Scholars Fund Bursaries 2024

African Scholars Fund Bursaries 2024 – For details about eligibility, requirements, available positions, application procedure – how to apply, application form PDF download, interview questions/schedules, etc.

Are you looking for Bursary programmes in South Africa? Do you have the basic requirements to apply for Bursary programmes? If yes, you are welcome to this page.

This page contains information about the latest Bursaries programmes at African Scholars Fund Bursaries 2024/2025 and how to apply.

bursary is a monetary award made by any educational institution or funding authority to individuals or groups. It is usually awarded to enable a student to attend school, university or college when they might not be able to, otherwise. Some awards are aimed at encouraging specific groups or individuals into study.

African Scholars Fund invites South African students to apply for Bursary Programme 2024 academic year.

The African Scholars Fund is inviting students to apply for their High School Bursary, for the 2024 academic year. Each year, the African Scholars Fund awards bursaries to approximately 2300 high school students who show academic promise, demonstrates initiative, seeks out opportunity and accepts responsibility.

The bursary will be awarded for studies at these selected high schools within the Western Cape, Eastern Cape and Northern Cape provinces:
Eastern Cape schools:

  • Cowan High School (Port Elizabeth)
  • Ekuphumleni Secondary School (Whittlesea)
  • Emdeni Junior Secondary School (Alice)
  • Enkwenkwezini High School (Alice)
  • Funda Secondary School (Whittlesea)
  • Greenpoint Secondary School (East London)
  • J A Calata High School (Cradock)
  • Johnson Nqonqoza Sec School (Somerset East)
  • Kuyasa Combined School (Port Alfred)
  • Mtirara Secondary School (Lady Frere)
  • Mzomhle High School (East London)
  • Ngwenyathi Sec School (East London)
  • Nqweba High School (Graaff-Reinet)
  • Phaphani High School (Uitenhage)
  • Richard Varha Secondary School (King Williamstown)
  • Silimela Secondary School (Berlin)
  • Smiling Valley Farm School (Kei Road)
  • Solomon Mahlangu High School (Uitenhage)
  • Soqhayisa Secondary School (Port Elizabeth)
  • Spandau Secondary School (Graaff-Reinet)
  • St Colmcille School (Kirkwood)
  • St Georges High School (Mount Frere)
  • Thobelani High School (Seymour)
  • Toise Secondary School (King Williamstown)
  • Willowmore Secondary School (Willowmore)
  • Zimeleni Junior Secondary School (Whittlesea)

Northern Cape schools:

  • Carlton van Heerden High School (Upington)
  • Tetlanyo High School (Kimberley)
  • Umso Secondary School (Colesberg)
  • Vuyolwethu Secondary School (Kimberley)

Western Cape schools:

  • Beaufort West Secondary School (Beaufort West)
  • Bastiaanse Secondary School (Beaufort West)
  • Bridgton High School (Oudtshoorn)
  • Chris Hani Secondary School (Khayelitsha)
  • Cosat WC Cape Town (Khayelitsha)
  • D M Tutu High School (Paarl)
  • Groot-Brak Rivier Sek Skool (Grootbrak River)
  • Harry Gwala High School (Khayelitsha)
  • Hector Peterson Secondary School (Kraaifontein)
  • Intlanganiso High School (Khayelitsha)
  • Intsebenziswano High School (Nyanga/Philippi)
  • Kuyakhanya Junior School (Nyanga/Crossroads)
  • Leap Science & Maths School (Langa/Philippi)
  • Leiden High School (Delft)
  • Manyano High School (Khayelitsha)
  • Masibambane High School (Kraaifontein)
  • Masiyile Secondary School (Khayelitsha)
  • Percy Mdala High School (Knysna)
  • Phandulwazi High School (Philippi)
  • Sinenjongo High School (Milnerton)
  • Sinethemba Secondary School (Philippi)
  • Siphamandla Secondary School (Khayelitsha)
  • Sophumelela Secondary School Philippi)
  • Saxonsea Secondary School (Atlantis)
  • Wallacedene Secondary School (Kraaifontein)


Bursaries are awarded to the value of R1 000 per year, paid directly to the students school. The bursary is paid to the school in 2 installments – the first installment is paid in February for school fees, uniforms and stationery items. The second installment is paid mid-year, if the students results meets ASF’s criteria.

Students results are assessed twice a year – mid-year and in December, whereby ASF checks reports in order to monitor, evaluate and give advice on progress made.


Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying (please note that failure to satisfy all the requirements will lead to your application not being considered):

  • You must reside within one of these provinces: Western Cape, Eastern Cape or Northern Cape
  • You must be attending one of the ASF-supported schools
  • You must NOT be older than 21 years old in your Matric year
  • Grade 7 students: you must have achieved an overall average of 60% and a minimum of 60% for all subjects
  • Grade 8 students: you must have achieved an overall average of 50% and a minimum of 50% for all subjects
  • Your school fees must NOT be more than R4 500 per year
  • Your total monthly household income must NOT be more than R10 000 per month

How to apply

Download and complete the African Scholars Fund Bursary Application Form (.doc)

Alternatively, application forms may be collected from the relevant schools.

Submit clear copies of the following supporting documentation along with your completed application form (the submission of these documents is compulsory – if any items are missing, your application may be disqualified):

  • June 2023 school report
  • Parents or guardians proof of household income (latest payslips if employed, affidavit if unemployed, receipts of pension or grant if applicable)
  • Handwritten letter by the student telling ASF about themselves and their family
  • Empty envelope addressed to the student, with a stamp on it (NOT sealed)

Applications must be submitted via post to:
African Scholars Fund’s Head Office
P.O. Box 18097
Cape Town
South Africa

Application Deadline: 15 September 2023

Was this information helpful? Do you want to be notified when we publish new articles? If yes, don’t hesitate to like our page on Facebook for timely and latest updates.